BSD Faculty Advisory Committee

Who are we?

FAC members are elected along 3 slates: Basic Biological Research, Clinical/Translational Science, and Patient Care and Training. Each slate has its own chair, who run the committee together. We at FAC welcome all suggestions and feedback! If you have suggestions or feedback about FAC, please click here or click the link on the menu bar!

FAC Basic Biological Research Members

Stephanie Cacioppo, Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

Stephanie Cacioppo, Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Assistant Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Neuroscience
scacioppo@bsd.uchicago.edu

Tatyana Golovkina, Ph.D. (2020 - 2023)

Tatyana Golovkina, Ph.D. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Professor, Microbiology
tgolovki@bsd.uchicago.edu

Yu-Ying He, Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

Yu-Ying He, Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Associate Professor, Medicine
yyhe@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Robert Keenan, Ph.D. (2018-2021)

Robert Keenan, Ph.D. (2018-2021)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Professor, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
bkeenan@uchicago.edu 

Zhe-Xi Luo, Ph.D. (2018-2021)

Zhe-Xi Luo, Ph.D. (2018-2021)

FAC Co-Chair, Basic Biological Research

Professor, Organismal Biology and Anatomy
zxluo@uchicago.edu

Betty Theriault, D.V.M. (2020 - 2023)

Betty Theriault, D.V.M. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Professor, Surgery
btheriault@bsd.uchicago.edu

Yun Fang, Ph.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

Yun Fang, Ph.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

FAC Committee Member, Basic Biological Research

Assistant Professor, Medicine
yfang1@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu 

FAC Clinical and Translational Science Members

Steven Chmura, M.D., Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

Steven Chmura, M.D., Ph.D. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Radiation and Cellular Oncology
SChmura@radonc.uchicago.edu

Tara Henderson, M.D., M.P.H. (2018-2021)

Tara Henderson, M.D., M.P.H. (2018-2021)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Pediatrics
thenderson@peds.bsd.uchicago.edu

Justin Kline, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

Justin Kline, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Medicine
jkline@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Monica Peek, M.D. (2018-2021)

Monica Peek, M.D. (2018-2021)

FAC Co-Chair, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Medicine
mpeek@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Sajid Shahul, M.D., M.P.H. (2019 - 2022)

Sajid Shahul, M.D., M.P.H. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Professor, Anesthesia and Critical Care
sshahul1@dacc.uchicago.edu

Mark Slidell, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

Mark Slidell, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Surgery
mslidell@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu

Neda Laiteerapong, M.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

Neda Laiteerapong, M.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

FAC Committee Member, Clinical and Translational Science

Associate Professor, Medicine
nlaiteer@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

FAC Patient Care and Training

Andrew Aronsohn, M.D. (2019 - 2022)

Andrew Aronsohn, M.D. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Associate Professor, Medicine 
aaronsoh@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu 

Elizabeth Blair, M.D. (2018 - 2021)

Elizabeth Blair, M.D. (2018 - 2021)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Adrianne Dade, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

Adrianne Dade, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
adade@bsd.uchicago.edu

H. Barrett Fromme, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

H. Barrett Fromme, M.D. (2020 - 2023)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Professor, Pediatrics
hfromme@peds.bsd.uchicago.edu

Sonia Kupfer, M.D. (2019 - 2021)

Sonia Kupfer, M.D. (2019 - 2021)

FAC Co-Chair, Patient Care and Training

Associate Professor, Medicine
skupfer@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

Monica Vela, M.D. (2019 - 2022)

Monica Vela, M.D. (2019 - 2022)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Professor, Medicine
mvela@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu

 

Keith Ruskin, M.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

Keith Ruskin, M.D. (Alternate 2020 - 2021)

FAC Committee Member, Patient Care and Training

Professor, Anesthesia & Critical Care
ruskin@uchicago.edu

 

Ex Officio

Kenneth Polonsky, M.D.

Kenneth Polonsky, M.D.

Dean, Division of the Biological Sciences; Dean, Pritzker School of Medicine

John Flynn, M.D.

John Flynn, M.D.

Dean for Clinical Affairs

T. Conrad Gilliam, Ph.D.

T. Conrad Gilliam, Ph.D.

Dean for Basic Science

Martin Feder, Ph.D.

Martin Feder, Ph.D.

Dean for Academic Affairs

Halina Brukner, M.D.

Halina Brukner, M.D.

Dean for Medical Education

Ruth Anne Eatock, Ph.D.

Ruth Anne Eatock, Ph.D.

Dean for Faculty Affairs

Jayant Pinto, M.D.

Jayant Pinto, M.D.

Dean for Faculty Affairs